Favorite Childhood Memories That I Miss

I’m perfectly fine with being a teenager all my life. No bills, no payments, and a whole lot less stressful than being an adult. “I’m thankful my childhood was filled with imagination and bruises from playing outside instead of apps and how many likes you get on a pic.” Just because we’re all growing up and getting older each day that doesn’t mean we can’t still stay in our pj’s until 2 in the afternoon watching cartoons eating goldfish crackers. We are all still children at heart. Nothing wrong with having big dreams and a huge imagination. I’m gonna share my list of 14 things from my childhood that I miss.

1 ▏TV Shows. I used to watch so many TV Shows with my brother and we would always record it so we could watch it the next day after we got home from school.  I grew up on Kim Possible, That’s So Raven, Lizzie Migure, Zack and Cody, The Cheetah Girls, Power Rangers, Ninja Turtles, Hannah Montana, Wizards of Waverly Place… What TV Shows did you grow up with?  Are they still on?

2 ▏Blockbuster. Every Friday I would go to blockbuster with my dad and brother and we would always pick up 2 movies to watch for the weekend. We would wait in line and grab popcorn and snacks. I miss doing that, getting out of the house and spending hours just to find a movie that everyone agrees on. But now we got our Netflix & Redbox.

3 ▏Music. I miss the music back when the lyrics actually meant something. Whenever I listen to throwback music it always brings me back to so many good memories. Yes, it makes me feel old, but I never get tired of listening to them. I would jam to these songs with my friends and we would always sing it at school.

4 ▏Food. Coming home from a long day of school and opening up the freezer to make some bagel bites, pizza rolls or my moms chocolate chip cookies! My parents would order pizza on Fridays!

5 ▏Playing Outside. When life didn’t revolve around technology and we actually had to find fun things to do to fill in the time. Water balloon fights, hide and seek, going to a friends house for hours and playing board games where everyone talked to each other.

6 ▏Easy Bake Ovens. What’s your favorite toy that you miss? The Easy Bake Oven made me feel like I had my own cooking show and that I was teaching people how to make pretty sweet cakes and brownies.  Even today my mom and I bake our favorites.  We made an extra big cupcake cake for my last birthday. It was amazing!

7 ▏Heads up. Seven up. Whenever we had a substitute she would let us play heads up seven up for the last 15 minutes of class.

8 ▏Bicycles. Learning to ride a bike was pretty fun! I remember it to this day of how much it was a struggle for me to learn. But once I learned I didn’t stop. It was my “freedom.” I always wanted a turquoise bike to ride. Man was riding a bike so much fun!

9 ▏Fortune Teller. Making thousands of these in class whenever I was bored.

10 ▏Sending notes in class. When we didn’t have texting so we passed notes in class to see who wanted to have lunch together or hang out after class.

11 ▏Books. Junie B. Jones, Judy Blume books, Magic Tree House. My favorite books in the world! I would read the magic tree house with my grandpa and grandma. If I looked in my closet I bet I still have the whole series. What was your favorite books to read as a child? Go see if the library still has them! Brings back some old memories 🙂

12 ▏Games. Uno, Apples to Apples, Monopoly, and even playing with my barbie dolls.

13 ▏Pixi Stix, Hubba Bubba, Nerds, and Airheads.

14 ▏Disposable Cameras. Physically having to go into the store to get the pictures developed. I miss that!

Thank you so much for reading! I hope you have a good weekend 🙂

What’s something that you miss from your childhood? Please share!

“I have decided that I no longer want to be an adult. If anyone needs me I will be in my tree house – coloring and eating fruit loops.

Save

Leave a Reply

