Curly Hair Struggles!

_dsc0829

So as most of you know, I was born with a massive amount of curly hair which can come with a few challenges. After being asked millions of times how I keep my curls looking 100, here’s a look into a part of my curly hair life.

Q: What do you put in your hair to make it curly?

A: People assume I have had an expensive perm..but nope, my hair was born this way. Haha..

Q: How long does it take you to straighten your hair?

A: Takes me about 2 Hrs To straighten…I think this is maybe why I only straighten my hair once a year. I never have the time to blow dry my hair, brush it all out, & straighten it multiple times just to make sure I didn’t miss a piece. Out of nowhere, it decides to rain that day & the hair begins to frizz.

Q: Have you ever had a bad hair day?

A: Only about 364 days out of the whole year. Just kidding. If I’m in a rush, I put it up in a bun and a hat for work.

Q: What does your hair look like when it’s humid outside?

A: Lion King awaits. Let me just say, the humidity is not a curly girls best friend. But hey, as long as you have humidity spray by your side, you’re all good to go!

Q: What’s your biggest pet peeve about curly hair?

A: THE DRAIN is filled with hair! The drain is usually always plugged. I pretty much spend most of my time just picking up all the hair.

Q: How many hair ties have you broke?

A: Too many to count!

Q: How long does it take to get ready?

A: Usually about an hour shower..I may be exaggerating a little. But seriously, it seems like in order to get all of the shampoo and conditioner out, you have to spend a bunch of time rinsing and scrubbing all it off.

Q: How many hairstyles do you have?

A: In total, I only have about 3 hairstyles with my curly hair. A ponytail, bun, and a braid.

“I’m a queen crowned in my curls.”

Thanks so much for reading! “Embrace what you were born with because it’s beautiful.” Thank you to all the Veteran’s out there! Happy Veteran’s Day!

Save

Save

15 thoughts on “Curly Hair Struggles!

    • Humidity spray helps with keeping the frizz tamed & in check. It mostly holds the hair into place. I know that I’ve seen a bunch of them at Target and even Sephora! 🙂

      Like

  1. Curly haired girls unite! Kids called me “Cousin It” when I was younger because my hair was and still is twice as large as I am. I found a BFF who straightens it for pictures because the one time I tried, my husband told me to “roll on down the river back to the shower” ala Tina Turner. My daughter has inherited my locks and I tell her every day “only comb when wet” and “we do not own brushes”. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

