3 Day Smoothie Detox

A de·tox is a process in which you help get rid of the toxins in your body. You take a pause from all the “bad foods” & assist in clearing up the body. Supposedly it’s good for enhancing & improving your energy, & possibly helping with weight loss. I wanted to try this detox out, and see what would come of it…what are the results, or what I get from doing this challenge? Do I see a change? Do I feel better after this detox?

So as you can tell by the title of this post, I did this detox for 3 days. I started on a Monday & ended the challenge at 12 PM on Thursday. I’m not gonna lie, this challenge was rough! I’m not used to only having smoothies or ever doing a detox. This was my first time ever doing a food-diet related challenge. In the beginning, I thought it was a complete waste of time, I kept asking myself, am I really gonna do this..I could be eating a nice, warm chocolate cake with chocolate sauce oozing out with vanilla ice cream on the side & powdered sugar. I mean come on! Which one would you prefer to do…eat a chocolate cake, or drink nothing but smoothies for 3 days & nothing else?

I don’t how, but I eventually talked myself into doing this detox. I told myself..maybe I’ll feel better after this. During the challenge, I was craving all sorts of food throughout this detox. But I remained faithful to the challenge, & kept a promise to myself that I would finish this detox no matter what. I wanted to prove to myself that I could do this.. & that’s exactly what I did!

Here are 3 smoothies that I tried when doing the challenge. Of course you can tweak it a little if you need to..add some chia seeds or maybe some celery or kale to your smoothies.

If you want to create your own detox smoothie, follow my guide below. Start with your foundation, next the greens, then the fruits, add a little energy, and finally get some flavor going. I also wrote next to the subtitles how much of the ingredient you will need. For the flavoring part..you can add as much or as little as you want. You can make your smoothie have a fruitier taste or maybe a bitter taste, depending on your liking.

PICK A FOUNDATION (14 OZ)

Almond Milk
Coconut Milk
Water
Coconut Water

FAVORITE GREENS (2 CUPS)

Avocado
Cucumber
Spinach
Kale
Celery

FRUITY GOODNESS (Handful)

Peaches
Pear
Banana
Apple
Pineapple
Grapes
Strawberries
Blueberries
Watermelon

ADD SOME ENERGY (1 TBSP)

Chia Seeds
Cinnamon
Greek Yogurt
Flax-seed
Green Tea

GET THE FLAVORING GOING

Lemon
Parsley
Ginger
Honey
Lime
Mint
Agave
Vanilla

After you have picked the ingredients that you want in your smoothie blend, go ahead & put it in a blender. Then blend all the ingredients together & enjoy your smoothie!

_DSC0085.JPG

The Days Of My Challenge:

Day 1

This day was the most challenging. Like I said I’ve never done anything like this before so I was a bit nervous. I didn’t know what to expect. I had my first smoothie of the day (breakfast) and started to crave fried chicken, Nutella, french fries, cheese burgers, and grilled cheese. Every commercial on TV was a food commercial, and every picture on Instagram was a food picture. It’s literally so hard to start a diet..especially with social media around, with everyone posting food pictures. I was really hungry, but somehow I fought off the urge of wanting it. I went outside…swam in the pool, hiked, went to the beach… just leaving the house helped. I did things that would take my mind off of the things that I really wanted. This helped me a lot!

Day 2

Day 2 wasn’t as bad as the first day. I was a little more used to the “routine” of only having smoothies. I’m not saying day 2 was super easy-because it was not at all. It was still hard with temptations of seeing food when you open the fridge or seeing someone with food that looks delicious. It’s so much better if you spend your day outside (away from the phone, TV, etc.)

Day 3

I woke up & felt a little more energized today. Again, I tried to get my mind off of food so I went to the mall & then swam laps in the pool. I was getting more used to drinking smoothies. I was relieved as well as upset about this being the last day of the challenge.

“Don’t stop because you’re tired. Keep going because you’re almost there.”

Ritu Ghatourey

Since I was drinking detox smoothies, I had to make sure I stayed hydrated at all times. I didn’t want to feel weak or get a headache from not drinking enough water. So therefore, I made a detox water. I cut up some cucumber, lemons, and parsley & put that into a cup of water. I placed that in the fridge for a good 15-30 minutes to let all the flavors combine & then drank it until it was gone.  It tasted pretty good..all the flavors blended well together.

_DSC0091.jpg

This challenge actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It took a day to get a bit used to things. After this challenge, I didn’t feel as bloated as I usually do when eating food. My stomach actually felt a little flatter. I felt a little more awake & energized too.

The next challenge I want to try is the 7 day detox challenge. I feel like I could really do it..if I prepare for it & set a goal to do it. If you want to accomplish something, be prepared! Be organized as well. Plan your smoothies before hand so that way you’re not just making a random smoothie of whatever. I have also seen people use zip-lock bags & putting their fruits & veggies inside them so that their all ready to put in the blender. You just have to add the foundation (water or milk).

Let me know if you decide to try this 3 day detox! 🙂

Save

Save

30 thoughts on “3 Day Smoothie Detox

Leave a Reply

