Being Called SHY OR QUIET! Rant #1

Happy Friday to all of my followers. Cheers to the weekend. Today, I’ve decided to start my new series on Infoella called “Rants.” I’m going to be talking about “Shyness and Being Called Quiet.” This topic has been bugging me for a couple of years now & has inspired me to write this new series. 🙂 So let’s get on with this post….


Elementary School was a rough time. I didn’t talk to the other kids, as I kept silent for the whole year. I only talked to family. There would be times where I would have to whisper in my teachers ear for show & tell and she would just repeat what I said to the class.

As I grew older, I don’t think I changed drastically. However I talked in class, but that was only when the teacher called on me. I was always freaked out when the teacher would pass out rubrics for class presentations because that meant I had to talk in front of 35 students. Even to this day, I still get nervous when ever I have to do a presentation. But honestly, who really likes having everyone stare at your every move while you talk for 15 minutes or how ever long your presentation is? I’m guessing not too many people.

I always got my class schedule on the day before school. When I got my schedule I was really confused. My paper was clearly printed, DRAMA CLASS PERIOD 4. Uh, Drama? When I chose my schedule, cooking class was my first choice, as I was expecting that to be on there. Apparently, my counselor selected me to be in Drama Class. Why?? I really have no idea.  First thing I did was go see my counselor and asked her to please change it. I remember her telling me “I’m sorry Tonee, I can’t switch it. Unless someone wants to switch classes with you, since every class is full.” I tried to find someone who would switch classes with me. I tried anything and everything so that I didn’t have to partake in Drama Class. At this point I had no idea what to do..I’m not an actress, I don’t like talking & especially not acting in front of an audience. As much as I called the office & went to each & every counselor to change it, there was nothing they could do. I eventually just sucked it up & faced the reality that I couldn’t switch classes. The first day I went to drama class, he made us go on a computer and look for Shakespeare monologues to print out & then eventually present/act them out loud. (Of course, the first day had to be Shakespeare monologues…we couldn’t have just received a syllabus & gotten the first day over with.) A couple of weeks into Drama Class, we presented the monologues we chose and I was the last person to go. All I can say is…I did it. 72 eye balls staring at every movement & every word I said. I just learned to block everyone out as I was saying it. The quote below I added is so true. Do something each day that’s out of your comfort zone. It’ll help with confidence and help you reach new accomplishments.

“Do One Thing Every Day That Scares You!”

Eleanor Roosevelt

When it was time for yearbook signing on the last day of school, a random person came up to me and said “Stop being so shy! Why are you always so quiet?” …Being shy isn’t something you can get rid of overnight. It ‘aint no one time thing. You can’t just tell someone to “stop being shy” & boom that solves it. For many people, it can affect the confidence of themselves. I wish some people would take it more seriously. One thing that really irks me is when someone comes up to me, like a teacher or someone who I’ve just met saying that I should stop being so quiet or that I should talk more. It really drives me nuts! They don’t take the time to get to know me. They just think automatically that because I’m quiet-I’m boring or not fun-wrong!

It’s kinda funny though, whenever I’m actually with my good friends now, I can’t stop talking. I talk about food, life, school, everything! 

“Don’t underestimate me because I’m quiet. I know more than I say, think more than I speak, and observe more than you know.”

Michaela Chung

“Be an encourager. The world has plenty of critics already.”

Dave Willis

Thank you for reading. 2 Blog Posts hit over 200 views this week! Thank you so much, I really appreciate all the support!! ❤

img_7914

Do things that will make you happy & grow as a person.

My Goals For This Year:

 -To get 100 Subscribers by the end of this year

-Finish writing my book

QOTD: What are some of your goals you would like to accomplish this year?

Click here to subscribe to Infoella. You will get a weekly newsletter. 🙂

91 thoughts on “Being Called SHY OR QUIET! Rant #1

  1. Good article, at seventy seven I have had more than enough panic attacks in my lifetime when asked to talk or read for a group. I have had more advise as to how I might overcome these fears. I would now like to put forward my own suggestions to reduce these anxieties. Good preparation where possible, don’t be afraid to say “I don’t know”, and love those you are addressing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved the post!
    I’m the same, I don’t talk to people. I mean, I do when I know them and am comfortable being around them but if I find myself from uncomfortable situation I rather not talk.
    I can also be quiet for many hours in a row, even if I’m with my friends just because I don’t feel like talking. Thank goodness they understand it 😀

    ♥: Jasmin N
    Little Things With Jassy
    Bloglovin’

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the numerous opportunities school systems are trying to open up for young adults. I am not sure they all realize how much they can change your life.

    Like

  4. i have plenty of shy friends and i love them the most because it’s only to the outside that they’re shy but to me and anyone they’re close with, their true personality shines & you get to see just how awesome they are. your post reminded me of them. great stuff

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This makes me think of a couple weeks ago when I had to say a few short sentences in front of a group of people. I nearly had a panic attack. In all these years, it just doesn’t get easier for me even though I try. I guess I should let it go.

    Like

  6. I hear what you’re saying about being called shy. I was that way too for other reasons, but people always said I had a wild look in my eye too. So I got blamed for everything as well lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I used to be described as a shy girl in high school as well. I am quiet most of the time because i just prefer to listen than talk, smile than laugh aloud and write than talk. Then my profession after school? I become a PR person and a trainer. Now, I talk a lot as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

